top of page

Calamunnda Camel Farm, Western Australia

In my opinion, camel riding only exist in Middle East. I told myself, I won't have an opportunity to do that. My life changed when my friend suggest I should do camel riding in WA. I was like "nooooo way!". The place my friend talked about called "Calamunnda Camel Farm". It took me such a long time to go there because it was far away from my accommodation, however, the camels were calling my name. One day, I did some research about it, after than I decided to book "Farm/Forrest Ride" which costed me 25AUD. The route to the camel farm is very quiet and empty. There was some cars at Perth Hill city center, yet 1 km after that the road was dead. Furthermore, this place is located in the middle of the forest, it made me felt like I drove to middle of nowhere! Thank God I saw a sign of Calamunnda Camel Farm before I turned my car back.

Camel farm

After forever drove, I finally arrived at the camel farm. I wasn't the only customer there, in fact, there are many people go there to do dirt bike trekking but I didn't know. I headed to the office, told the lady that I booked farm ride. Two minutes after I saw a man holding a joey in his arm. Aw it was super adorable. I asked his permission to take some photos of that joey. I spend a few second on the joey, suddenly, I heard someone spoke English with American accent. At that moment I thought "I have to look at that person's face". I turned my head, just to have a quick look at his face, then I shocked. I couldn't believe I saw Sean Astin, who is role as Samwise Gamgee in The Lord of the Rings. I didn't take any photo with him because I was too nervous and happy! but I guarantee you this stuff is 100% real. The reason he was in WA is because he was a guess at Supanova 2016 at Perth. I did mention that to him and he said "oh so I will meet you there". I said "yes, definitely!"

Camel smile

After a nice greeting with a Hollywood actor, it's time to ride a lovely camel! I walked up to the station, which is pretty high, then the other lady brought camel to the station. She had a little chat with me, about camel and what to do when I fall. The camel I sat on, she is pregnant. I was like "no no, I don't wanna sit on pregnant camel. She will give birth because I am too heavy." The lady said "she'd rather do the ride than nothing". At that moment I wanted to ask "how can you know?" but I ignored it. When camel started to walk, I felt extremely unstable. I had no experience about animal riding before. This stuff was new to me. I held the handle very tight and tried not to think I were on the camel back! By the way, the lady leashed the camel, it didn't walk as it please. If we walked pass the bush, the camel gonna scratch his body with it lol, similar to the bear itch its back with the tree.

View from the camel's back

Next 5 minutes, I could adjust myself, I realize I shoulda done this long time ago. Say is easy but camel riding in Thailand doesn't exist. Along the way, I saw many beautiful plants and flowers. This area still abundant, far from human activities. Not so long the lady stopped to take a photo of me and to let the camel rest. I saw my photo and I absolutely love it. I had helmet on me, it made me look like I was a warrior. I gonna fight the enemies with the camel! On the way back, the Asian family saw me doing camel ride. Their children wanted to do it too, They was like "so cute papa. I wanna do it" For some reason they speak English. To be honest I thought they gonna speak Korean or Chinese. I guess they might be new generation. I arrived at the camel station safely. Big relieve. Before I left the owner came to me and said "don't forget to pick up your certificate at the office, okay?" A certificate? I gonna get certificate for a camel riding. This is insaaaaane. I thought I only get certificate when I got 100/100 point in Maths! Why wait, people. I grabbed my certificate and walked back like a legend. My parents gonna be proud of me.

Zoo area

While I was on the back of the camel, I notice that the farm has a little space for animals. I still had some spare time to take a quick look at it. Inside, you will see crazy goats about to hop out of the fence, like in the photo. Man, I would run if that really happen. That goat made other animals excited so much. The chicken started to fly, the duck as well. Later on, I left the animals behind and got into the car. Yes I am going home. Summing up, the camel riding is perfect for family, a nice day off trip, good getaway from the city and new experience on the back of the camel.

Gallery:

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page